Letter from the Editors

Dear Reader,

After two semesters, the challenges of a global pandemic, and a university-wide transition to online learning, we are proud to present Volume Seven of the *James Madison Undergraduate Research Journal*!

During the 2019-2020 academic year, Managing Editor Logan Roddy led a dedicated crew of interns, editors, and designers in publishing the first installments of Volume 7. In the Fall 2020 semester, Managing Editors Kim Stuart and Jennifer Switzer took up the mantle of leadership, working with a team of newcomers and experienced returners to deliver the finishing touches on our volume and lay the groundwork for future editorial boards.

The transition to managing the publication in an entirely digital space proved to be a new adventure for us all, but the Editorial Board has maintained its momentum. This volume represents research from a variety of disciplines, including Political Science, History, Sociology, and Integrated Science and Technology. These works, along with pieces published in previous volumes, have been downloaded over 32,000 times in the past year by researchers around the world. As our journal continues to grow in scope, we have continued to value the support of 200+ faculty experts across the JMU campus who have served as reviewers since our first issue.

Volume 7 stands as a testament to the ways that James Madison University as a whole adapts and achieves academic excellence. *JMURJ* is proud to have provided undergraduate students with a platform to showcase their research and scholarship to their peers around the globe. This would not be possible without the community we have developed, both within James Madison University and beyond. Whether you are a long-time supporter or a first-time reader, we thank you for your patronage and hope you enjoy the valuable research and scholarship created by JMU's undergraduate students.

The JMURJ Editorial Board

Meet the Board

Managing Editors Logan Roddy Kimberlyn Stuart Jennifer Switzer

Lead Editors Laura Baird Kenny Graham Sarah Hann Tess Myracle Jessica Tosi

Webmaster Zach Welker **Editors** Leah Coffey Aleah Crystal Nick Dunard Lindsay Faules Taralyn Guthrie Sarah Hann Jay White

Designers Tori Carpenter Homer Eliades Declan Sofield Marketing Team Isabelle Amato Angela Lin Sara M. Clara Peirce Rochelle Podolsky

ISAT Liaison Nolan Harrington

Advisor Kevin Jefferson

