## DIRECTORY OF STUDENT OFFICERS

### HARRISONBURG STATE TEACHERS COLLEGE FALL QUARTER, 1935-36

### STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

Frances Wells, Suffolk, president; Charleva Crichton, Hampton, vice-president; Annie Cox, Baywood, secretary-treasurer; Catherine Cartee, Hagerstown, Md., recorder of points; Elizabeth Bywaters, Opequon, editor of Hand-Y. W. C. A.

# Elizabeth Thweatt, Petersburg, president; Nell Williams, Suffolk, vice-president; Marian Townsend, Red Springs, N. C., secretary; Frances Graybeal, Christiansburg, treas-ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

Sylvia Kamsky, Richmond, president; Anne Kellam, Weirwood, vice-president; Elizabeth Gilley, Axton, business manager; Isabel Roberts, Falls Church, secretary; Bernice Sloop, Harrisonburg, treasurer.

### PUBLICATIONS

The Schoolma'am: Evelyn Pugh, Edom, editor; Marga-

ret Newcomb, Formosa, business manager.

The Breeze: Virginia Cox, Woodlawn, editor-in-chief; Lois Meeks, Baltimore, Md., business manager.

#### SOCIETIES

Kappa Delta Pi: Daisy May Gifford, Harrisonburg, president; Elizabeth Schumaker, Washington, D. C., vice-president; Lois Meeks, Baltimore, Md., recording secretary; Eleanor Bobbitt, Reisterstown, Md., corresponding secretary; Jane Epps, Halifax, treasurer; Goldie Cohen, Scottsville, historian.

Scribblers: Lois Sloop, Harrisonburg, chief scribe.

Stratford Dramatic Club: Bertha Jenkins, Waynesboro, president; Virginia Cox, Woodlawn, vice-president; Katherine Beale, Holland, secretary; Mary Knight, Norfolk, treasurer; Louise Faulconer, Unionville, business manager.

Lee Literary Society: Martha Way, Kenova, W. Va., president; Melva Burnette, Leesburg, vice-president; Annie Glenn Darden, Holland, secretary; Margaret Hottle, Manassas, treasurer; Helen Shular, East Stone Gap, chairman of the program committee; Dolores Phalen, Harrisonburg, critic.

Lanier Literary Society: Janie Miner, Meridian, Miss., president; Marjorie Baptiste, Boydton, vice-president; Mildred Townsend, Manquin, secretary; Sophie Rogers, Portsmouth, treasurer; Rosamond Wiley, Independence, critic; Virginia Lewis, Norfolk, sergeant-at-arms.

Page Literary Society: Ruth Manning, Assawoman, president; Emily Bushong, Woodstock, vice-president; Ruth Matthews, Front Royal, secretary; Adelaide Howser, Ballston, treasurer; Jane Epps, Halifax, chairman of the program committee; Alice Thompson, Charleston, W. Va., critic; Elizabeth Huffman, Hopewell, sergeant-at-arms.

Alpha Literary Society: Anne Wood, Richmond, president; Eleanor Taylor, Ridgely, Md., secretary-treasurer.

Bolian Music Club: Emma Dunbar, Dunbar, W. Va., president; Julia Kilgore, Coeburn, vice-president; Ruth Spitzer, Harrisonburg, secretary; Daisy May Gifford, Harrisonburg, treasurer; Annie Cox, Baywood, business manager; Vergilia Pollard, Scottsville, chairman program committee.

Glee Club: Luemma Phipps, Galax, president; Rachel Keller, Fishers Hill, vice-president; Martha Way, Kenova, W. Va., business manager; Betty Martin, Catawba, secretary; Adelaide Howser, Ballston, librarian.

Bluestone Orchestra: Josephine R. Miller, Woodstock, president; Julia Kilgore, Coeburn, vice-president.

Frances Sale Club: Lucille Smiley, Roanoke, president; Mary Moore Davis, Charlottesville, vice-president; Margaret Peak, Long Island, secretary; Mary B. Morgan, Gladys, treasurer; Eleanor McKnight, Cambridge, Md., chairman program committee; Adelaide White, Wythewille chairman social committee ville, chairman social committee.

Cotillion Club: Gene Averett, Lynchburg, president; Anne Kellam, Weirwood, vice-president; Elizabeth Gilley, Axton, secretary; Marian Townsend, Red Springs, N. C., treasurer; Dorothy Beach, Norfolk, business manager; Bertha Jenkins, Waynesboro, sergeant-at-arms.

Le Cercle Français: Helen McMillan, Harrisonburg, president; Eleanor M. Bobbitt, Reisterstown, Md., vice-president; Retha Cooper, Winchester, secretary; Margaret

Thompson, Lexington, treasurer.

Art Club: Marjoric Fulton, Gate City, N. C., president; Elizabeth Schumacher, Washington, D. C., vice-president; Ethel Cooper, Winchester, secretary; Miriam Rosenkrans, Landover, Md., treasurer; Barbara Moody, Beaverdam, chairman program committee; Elizabeth Strange, Richmond, sergeant-at-arms.

Debating Club: Elizabeth Schumacher, Washington, C., president; Mary Knight, Norfolk, vice-president; Mary B. Cox, Independence, secretary.

Alpha Rho Delta: Ruth Rose, Big Stone Gap, president; Blandene Harding, Waynesboro, vice-president; Dolores Phalen, Harrisonburg, secretary; Lucille Webber, Winchester, treasurer.

Sesame Club: Lois Wandless, Bridgewater, president; Lucille Fawley, Harrisonburg, vice-president; Janet Hop-kins, Harrisonburg, secretary; Ella Mae Layman, Har-risonburg, treasurer; Effa Lineweaver, Mt. Crawford, sergeant-at-arms.

Curie Science Club: Helen Madjeski, Elizabeth, N. J., Goldie Cohen, Scottsville, secretary; Gertrude Ashenfelter, Edinburg, treasurer; Katherine Gay, Portsmouth, chairman of the program committee; Margaret Peak, Long Island, librarian.

Garden Club: Evelyn Shelton, Lovingston, president; Mary Janet Stuart, Churchville, vice-president; Rose Duggins, Beaverdam, secretary-treasurer.

International Relations Club: Elizabeth Bywaters, Opequon, president; Bernice Sloop, Harrisonburg, vice-president; Ruth Rose, Big Stone Gap, secretary; Retha Cooper, Winchester, treasurer; Melva Burnette, Leesville, chairman program committee.

Sigma Phi Lambda: Mary Ella Carr, Fairfax, president; Isabel Roberts, East Falls Church, vice-president; Helen Shular, East Stone Gap, secretary; Mildred Miller, Harrisonburg, treasurer; Lena Mundy, Harrisonburg, his-

torian.

Hiking Club: Frances Umberger, Concord, N. C., presi-

### CLASSES

Senior: Flora Heins, Ballston, president; Margaret Hottle, Manassas, vice-president; Eleanor Taylor, Ridgely, Md., secretary; Elizabeth Cosby, Lynchburg, treasurer; Elizabeth Schumacher, Washington, D. C., business marger; Edith Gammon, Hickory, sergeant-at-arms; Ruth Rose, Big Stone Gap, Luemma Phipps, Galax, and Melva Burnette, Leesville, student council members.

Junior: Mary B. Cox, Independence, president; Ellen astman, Harrisonburg, vice-president; Adelaide Howser, Junior: Mary B. Cox, Independence, president; Ellen Eastman, Harrisonburg, vice-president; Adelaide Howser, Ballston, secretary; Helen Shutters, Mt. Jackson, treasurer; Alice West, Salem, business manager; Katherine Beale, Holland, sergeant-at-arms; Marie Craft, Goshen, Adelaide White, Wytheville, and Eleanor McKnight, Cambridge, Md., student council members.

Sophomore: Mary Martha Cannon, Norfolk, president; Sabel Roberts, East Falls Church, vice-president; Ann Bell Landingham, Petersburg, secretary; Ruth Matthews, Front Royal, treasurer; Elizabeth Wolfe, Stephens City, business manager; Jennie Spratley, Dendron, sergeantatarms; Helen Austin, Wytheville, Ila Arrington, Pembroke, and Mary J. Walker, Lynwood, student council members.

Freshman: Agnes Arnold, Nassawadox, president; Elizabeth Rawls, Norfolk, vice-president; Audrey Kilman, Jenkins Bridge, secretary; Catherine Warner, Richmond, treasurer; Nell Cox, Independence, business manager; Jean Fretwell, Staunton, sergeant-at-arms.