but that the sentences are arranged and worded in a simpler, more natural manner for children. This is an inexpensive edition, lacking the beauty of some of the other editions, although there are some unusually good illustrations by Hildegarde Woodward.

M. V. H.

THE COMMAND OF WORDS. By S. Stephenson Smith. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Company. 1935. 290 pp. \$2.50.

A workmanlike presentation of fascinating problems and thoroughgoing exercises in the use of words, this volume is aimed at the reader who "wants to build a wide vocabulary and have it under ready and sure command." The author points out that the spelling bee, the game of anagrams, and the cross word puzzle are not enough; he holds to the sound notion that words should be studied in context.

In general his treatment is modern and authoritative, resting on the Fowlers and the Oxford English Dictionary. He recognizes the potency of slang in a living language, points out that it does not cast a social stigma on its user (as the pedants in the schoolroom would have us believe), and urges that slang must not be "dismissed with mere tut-tutting."

A chapter on the Use of the Dictionary contains a valuable sheet presenting in comparison sample pages from the Concise Oxford, the Winston Simplified, Webster's Collegiate, the College Standard, and Roget's Thesaurus. The book also includes keys to the many serviceable exercises.

Intelligent recognition of various levels of usage for various occasions characterizes the chapters on "The Art of Conversation," "The After-Dinner Touch," and "When to Write as You Talk." Throughout, there is vigor and sprightliness as well as sound scholarship.

C. T. LOGAN

NEWS OF THE COLLEGE

The Hedgerow Players of Rose Valley, Pennsylvania, will present Shakespeare's Twelfth Night as a matinee performance and Eugene O'Neill's Beyond the Horizon as an evening attraction in Wilson Auditorium on January 29.

Newly elected officers in the three literary societies for the winter quarter are the following:

Lanier Literary Society: Rosalie Fowlkes, president; Alice West, vice-president; Elberta Rice, secretary; Sophia Rogers, treasurer; Laura Prince Morris, sergeant-at-arms; Helen Irby, chairman of the program committee; and Eleanor Holtzman, critic.

Lee Literary Society: Annie Glenn Darden, president; Ann VanLandingham, vice-president; Adelaide White, secretary; Margaret Hottle, treasurer; Aileen Goalder, sergeant-at-arms; Helen Shular, chairman of the program committee; and Betty Hodges, critic.

Page Literary Society: Catherine Cartee, president; Margaret Byer, vice-president; Alice Thompson, secretary; Adelaide Howser, treasurer; Marian Sampson, sergeant-at-arms; Margaret Peak, chairman of the program committee; and Ettie Henry, critic.

Ethel Cooper, Winchester, and Susan Quinn, Richmond, have been chosen as first and second asistant editors, respectively, of the 1936 *Schoolma'am* by Evelyn Pugh, Edom, editor.

Other directing members of the annual staff are Margaret Newcomb, Formosa, business manager, and Helen Madjeski. Elizabeth, New Jersey, snapshot editor. Ethel Cooper has also served as art editor.

Miss Newcomb's appointments to the business staff include Frances Ream, Margaret Peak, Christine Newcomb, Goldie Cohen, Louise Ellett, Elizabeth Cosby, and Irene Collins.

The 1936 Bugle staff at V. P. I. recently asked the local yearbook staff to hold an election to determine the six most beautiful girls on the Harrisonburg campus. Frances Wells, Suffolk; Elizabeth Gilley, Axton; Louise Garniss, Bloomfield, New Jersey; Margaret Newcomb, Formosa; Melva Burnette, Leesville; and Mary Bryant Cox, Independence, were selected by popular vote of the student body. Pictures of these girls will be sent to the Bugle staff to be judged by a nationally known authority. The winner will be featured as "Miss H. T. C." along with representatives from other women's colleges in the state.

Frances Wells, Suffolk, was chosen by the student body to play the part of Mary in the annual Christmas pageant presented by the Y. W. C. A. December 12.

Other persons taking part in the pageant which was directed by Mary Cox, Independence, were Catherine Warner, Nell Cox, Doris Bubb, Myra Pittman, Louise Faulconer, Nell Williams, Lucy Clarke, Helen Shutters, Belle Kreiger, Ann Van Landingham, Margaret Turner, Mae Woodson, Virginia Oakey, Anne Wood, Eleanor Taylor, Helen Madjeski, Agnes Dingledine, Sue Quinn, Ayleen Cox, Elizabeth Rawles, Elizabeth Gilley, Margaret Hottle, Hazel Koontz, Elizabeth Schumacher, Beth Cosby, and Anita Wise.

Featuring a composition by two of its members and a choral selection composed by persons formerly connected with the College, the Glee Club presented its annual Christmas vesper service in Wilson Auditorium Sunday afternoon, December 13, under the direction of Miss Edna T. Shaeffer. This program was broadcast through the courtesy of WSVA and the Harrisonburg Mutual Telephone Company.

Miss Frances Houck sang *Presence*, the text of which was written by Helen Mitchell. The melody was written by Charlotte Landon. Both of these girls are members

of the Glee Club this year. A-shining Far in the East, another number included on the program, was written by Garnet Hamrick, an alumna of the College and a former member of the Glee Club, and Miss Eunice Kettering, a former member of the College music faculty.

Soloists besides Miss Houck were Charleva Crichton, June Powell, Mildred Johnson, Lois Robertson, Joseph Miller, Floyd Williams, and Robert Schane. The Glee Club was assisted by the Choral Club and the Freshman Chorus, college organizations, and by a chorus of local men.

At the annual hockey banquet held December 11 in Bluestone Dining Hall the following girls were awarded varsity numerals: Catherine Brennan, Marjorie de Mott, Rae Gerard, Nancy Dorwin, Margaret Shank, Marguerite Holder, Margaret Glover, Helen MacMillan, Margaret Byer, Margaret Thompson, Sylvia Kamsky, Margaret Shank, Ann Bell VanLandingham, Willene Clarke, Lucy Clarke, Lois Wandless, Bessie Watts, Florence Truberg, and Margaret Poats.

Margaret Shank was elected to succeed herself as captain of the hockey squad and was awarded the rabbit's foot by Sylvia Kamsky, president of the athletic association.

Various toasts were proposed to faculty members who have contributed to the success of the hockey team. Numerals were also presented to players on class teams.

Alice Thompson, Emma Dunbar, June Sprinkle, and Elsie Jarvis have appeared in a series of programs presented over the local broadcasting station, WSVA, by Mrs. Vera Melone Conrad's organ class.

Scribblers, honorary writing club, recently elected five new members upon the successful completion of try-out tests. They are Margaret Byer, Dolores Phalen, Lena Mundy, Helen MacMillan, and Bernice Sloop.