Preferred Name

H. Carl Hess

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.


Date of Graduation

Spring 2016

Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)


School of Music


Stephen P. Bolstad

Andrew Connell

Eric Guinivan


American composer and percussionist Eric Guinivan is a rising star in the world of composition. He is the recipient of several major awards including the Morton Gould Young Composer Award, the BMI Student Composer’s Award, and was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Small Ensemble Performance for his work with the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet. His work Meditation and Awakening was hailed by the New York Times as “engaging,” and commented on the work’s “shimmering colors” and “frenetic energy.” His pieces for wind band have been performed around the country, including at national and regional conferences of the College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA). The purpose of this document is to explore and elucidate the current compositions for wind band by the composer. Three works will be studied in depth: Fractured Light (2012), Vicious Cycle (2014), and Meditation and Awakening (originally composed in 2010 but transcribed for wind band in 2016 by the author). Biographical information, theoretical analyses, performance considerations, and information regarding the transcription process will be discussed.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.